LAMB OF GOD – release music video for “Checkmate”

LAMB OF GOD – release music video for “Checkmate”

- in News, Video

LAMB OF GOD has revealed a brand new single and video, ‘Checkmate’, from the band’s first release in five years and the first to feature new drummer Art Cruz. The self-titled “Lamb Of God” is due out May 8 via Nuclear Blast.

Get the single digitally here:
Listen to ‘Checkmate’ and other new tracks in the NB New Releases Playlists: /

‘Checkmate’ brings together all the components of the LAMB OF GOD sound that we’ve been developing over the last two decades, but with the ambition and ferocity that comes with the start of a new chapter for our band,”

says guitarist Mark Morton.

“Re-energized and reignited, this is LAMB OF GOD 2020. We’ve never been more excited.”

The fact that the band’s eighth studio effort would warrant ‘self-titled’ status is a testament to the band’s pride and satisfaction with these songs and this period in their creativity.

It is also a testament to the band’s long career – which includes two gold albums, two platinum DVDs, and five Grammy nominations – and a bold statement about where the quintet is now.

“Putting only our name on it is a statement,”

vocalist D. Randall Blythe says.

“This is LAMB OF GOD. Here and now.”

A true collaboration between all members of the band, LAMB OF GOD’s eighth studio album is an amalgam of each individual’s contributions, blended to create a singular style. Guitarists Mark Morton and Willie Adler fuel the album with a mountain of riffs, taking what LAMB OF GOD are known for, and unbelievably, upping the ante to new levels. The rhythm section of John Campbell, looming large as a rhythmic shadow, and drummer Art Cruz, who makes his studio debut with LAMB OF GOD here on this record, underpin the proceedings with passion, sweat and expansive dynamics. Vocalist D. Randall Blythe is as angry, insightful, and informed as ever. Never one to shrink from facing the darker aspects of our nature head-on, Blythe delivers with no punches pulled, and as only he and LAMB OF GOD can in 2020.

In the midst of writing the ten songs that appear on LAMB OF GOD, the group hit pause on the works-in-progress to man the stage as main support SLAYER’s “The Final Campaign”. After months of playing their best-known songs nightly, LAMB OF GOD returned to the new tracks and began to work with longtime producer Josh Wilbur (KORN, MEGADETH, GOJIRA, TRIVIUM). Special guests Jamey Jasta (HATEBREED) and Chuck Billy (TESTAMENT) also make appearances on “Lamb Of God”.

Today, they also kick off the pre-order for the upcoming album, that will be released as CD, Black LP, Limited Edition Red and Yellow LP plus a DELUXE EDITION BOX Set incl. Digipack, Picture LP, 20 pages booklet, Poster and Slipmat!
Pre-Order via Amazon –

“Lamb Of God” tracklisting:
1. Memento Mori
2. Checkmate
3. Gears
4. Reality Bath
5. New Colossal Hate
6. Resurrection Man
7. Poison Dream (feat. Jamey Jasta)
8. Routes (feat. Chuck Billy)
9. Bloodshot Eyes
10. On The Hook

LAMB OF GOD will embark on the ‚State Of Unrest‘ tour with KREATOR and POWER TRIP. The band will play in numerous European cities:

»State Of Unrest Tour« – Europe 2020
27.03. S Stockholm – Fryshuset Arenan
28.03. DK Copenhagen – Forum Black Box
30.03. FIN Oulu – Club Teatria
31.03. FIN Helsinki – Black Box Jäähalli
02.04. PL Kraków – Tauron Arena
03.04. D Berlin – Columbiahalle
04.04. D Oberhausen – Turbinenhalle
05.04. D Wiesbaden – Schlachthof
07.04. CH Zurich – Samsung Hall
08.04. D Munich – Zenith
09.04. D Ludwigsburg – MHPArena
11.04. D Hamburg – Sporthalle
14.04. E Barcelona – Razzmatazz
15.04. E Madrid – La Riviera
17.04. F Paris – L’Olympia
18.04. D Saarbrücken – Saarlandhalle
19.04. B Brussels – Ancienne Belgique
21.04. UK Bristol – O2 Academy *SOLD OUT*
22.04. UK Manchester – Academy
23.04. UK Glasgow – O2 Academy
24.04. UK Birmingham – O2 Academy
25.04. UK London – O2 Academy Brixton

Tickets are available here:

The Richmond, Virginia, quintet propelled heavy metal into the new millennium two decades ago with the prophetically titled “New American Gospel”. They followed with 2003’s “As The Palaces Burn”, which made the Rolling Stone list of the Top 100 Greatest Metal Albums of All Time. “Ashes Of The Wake”, released in 2004, was the first LAMB OF GOLD album to be certified gold by the RIAA, as was 2006’s Sacrament, which also made a Top 10 Billboard 200 chart debut. In 2009, LAMB OF GOD released “Wrath”, their first with Wilbur at producer, and earned the number one album spot on Billboard’s Hard Rock, Rock, and Tastemaker charts, with a number two position on the Billboard 200.

Those number one positions were repeated with 2012’s “Resolution”, which swung effortlessly between thrash, traditional metal, sludgy doom, with flashes of crust punk swagger and bravado. LAMB OF GOD’s last album, “VII: Sturm und Drang” (2015) made its debut on the Billboard 200 at number three and finished number 2 in the world charts, reaching Top 5 in five countries and six addition Top 15 positions.

In 2020, LAMB OF GOD is re-energized and unrelenting, ready to lay claim to the metal throne.

D. Randall Blythe – Vocals
Mark Morton – Guitar
Willie Adler – Guitar
John Campbell – Bass
Art Cruz – Drums

If you really would like to support Antichrist, you can just Share our article.
You can also support Antichrist by sending a couple bucks to cover some webhosting expenses.