Premiere: Drudkh “His Twenty-Fourth Spring”

Premiere: Drudkh “His Twenty-Fourth Spring”

- in Exclusives

The first track premiere of the new DRUDKH / GRIFT split “Betrayed By The Sun / Hägringar”, which will be released on September 16th.

DRUDKH are continuing their planned series of split-EPs with the acclaimed Swedish underground one-man project GRIFT.

After drawing lyrical inspiration from the poetry of Soviet murdered Ukrainian writer Volodymyr Svidzins’kyi (1885-1941) on the previous split-EP with HADES ALMIGHTY ‘One Who Talks With The Fog / Pyre Era, Black!’, mastermind Roman Sayenko has again decided to bring two national poets into the focus. The lyrics for “His Twenty-Fourth Spring” were penned by Bohdan-Ihor Antonych (1909–1937), who died at the early age of 28 years from an infection of the lungs. The family of Mike Johansen (1895–1937) was of partly Latvian decent and arrived in DRUDKH’s hometown Karkhiv at the end of the 19th century. His words were used in the song “Autumn in Sepia”. Johansen also suffered a premature death; as he was brutally murdered by the Soviets in a Kiev (Ukrainian: Kyiv) prison under a fabricated accusation of conspiracy.

The two tracks “His Twenty-Fourth Spring” and “Autumn in Sepia” come in classic DRUDKH style, which mainly consists out of an atmospheric amalgamation of bleak rawness with epic melodies, but always has a richness of small details derived from any suitable musical genre.

With the latest full-length ‘A Furrow Cut Short’, DRUDKH had continued on the dark and bleak course charted with their previous release ‘Eternal Turn of the Wheel’ (2012). In an ever evolving metamorphosis, DRUDKH have regularly returned to their early legacy from the Nordic Black Metal inspired debut ‘Forgotten Legends’ (2003) as well as the cinematic soundscapes of ‘Autumn Aurora’ (2004) and the traditional influences of ‘The Swan Road’ (2005). On ‘Blood in Our Wells’ (2006) progressive elements surfaced, while after the instrumental and partly acoustic ‘Songs of Grief and Solitude’ (2006) a sharp contrast was created by the harshly black ‘Estrangement’ (2007). ‘Microcosmos’ (2009) seemed to tie up the different strands of DRUDKH’s previous releases, before embarking on a quest to more outlying progressive realms with ‘Handful of Stars’ (2010), which led Roman Sayenko to found OLD SILVER KEY, joined by ALCEST vocalist Neige. The band’s mastermind has often penned his own lyrics, but also continuously rediscovered forgotten poets of his home country. DRUDKH still refuse any kind of interview or promotion and demand to be understood through their music alone.

1. DRUDKH – His Twenty-Fourth Spring
2. DRUDKH – Autumn in Sepia
3. GRIFT – Källan
4. GRIFT – Cirkeln

Line-up DRUDKH
Roman Sayenko: guitars
Thurios: guitar, vocals
Krechet: bass
Vlad: drums, keyboards

If you really would like to support Antichrist, you can just Share our article.
You can also support Antichrist by sending a couple bucks to cover some webhosting expenses.
=>> PayPal


About the author

I'm Antichrist and Antichrist is me, nothing more. CEO/Founder/Chief-Editor

Related Posts